Skip to main content
Category

News

Partner Webinar #6 – PwC

By Featured, News, Partner Webinar

This series highlights offerings from various service providers throughout the global OpenChain eco-system. Each featured partner has an official relationship with the project, whereby they may use our trademark for marketing OpenChain-specific services, and in exchange they help with community outreach, education and other aspects of collaborative (and free) support.

OpenChain Korea Work Group – Meeting #16 – 2022-12-02 – 14:00 KST

By News

The OpenChain Korea Work Group will hold its 16th meeting on the 2nd of December 2022 at 14:00 KST (05:00 UTC). This meeting is sponsored by NIPA, the Korean National IT Industry Promotion Agency.

Learn more about this meeting:

Subscribe to the mailing list to get final dial-in details:

Learn more about the Korea Work Group:

Congratulations Fukuchi San!

By Featured, News

Fukuchi San of Sony, one of the key people behind the OpenChain Japan Work Group, has received the ‘NAOPF OSS award 2022‘ from the Japan OSS Promotion Forum. This award was announced on the 24th of November 2022 during the 20th Northeast Asia OSS Promotion Forum.

Fukuchi San is one of the founders of the OpenChain Japan Work Group and has been a tireless contributor to both the local and international community for many years. His formal resume is on LinkedIn (https://www.linkedin.com/in/hiroyuki-fukuchi-oss/) but his most important resume is visible across his community contributions on our calls, mailing lists and elsewhere.

The OpenChain Project is driven by the community around it, and figures like Fukuchi San have been critical to building the energy and atmosphere to help people work together. His award is well-deserved and is a welcome example of how contributions are acknowledged by the broader open source ecosystem.

Thank you Fukuchi San!

Learn More (Japanese):

  • http://ossforum.jp/index.php/2022/11/18/2022naospf/

OpenChain Webinar #45 – The Software Defined Vehicle Project – 08:00 UTC 2022-11-29 (09:00 CET / 16:00 CST / 17:00 JST)

By News

Tomorrow (November 29th) we have our 45th community webinar at 08:00 UTC (09:00 CET / 16:00 CST / 17:00 JST)

This time Michael Plagge will be discussing the Software Defined Vehicle Project hosted at the Eclipse Foundation. Our webinar will help unpack what it means to open source in automotive and the broader global community.

Join:
https://zoom.us/j/4377592799
No registration necessary

Learn a little more about the project here ahead of time:
https://sdv.eclipse.org/

OpenChain Japan Work Group Meeting #25 – 2022-10-31 – Full Recording

By News

先日開催した全体会合の録画が公開されました。
https://www.openchainproject.org/news/2022/11/28/japan-wg-25-full-recording

特にOSPO Subgroupの活動紹介は大変良かったと思いますので
是非ご覧下さい。

第25回全体会合(第12回オンライン会合)
日時:2022年10月31日(月)15:30-16:30開催
今回は、以下の2つのSubgroupの活動紹介を紹介しています。
 Leaflet Subgroup 新しい活動のお知らせ
 OSPO Subgroup  これまでの活動と今後の予定の紹介

OpenChain Export Control Work Group – 2022-11-22 – Full Recording

By Featured, News

The first meeting of the OpenChain Export Control Work Group took place on the 22nd of November 2022. This meeting focused on setting the parameters for future discussion.

In our open discussion, we explored topics firstly by framing the challenges, and then by discussing the types of resources available to support individual organization understanding and workflow.

During this discussion we explored a series of links based on audience contribution.

For example, the US export control overview:

The US Encryption and Export Administration Regulations (EAR):

The type of definitions used:

The American Conference Institute overview of US EAR encryption controls:

Exclusions to US cryptographic export control related to financial services:

A recent article regarding open source and export control:

An old but potentially useful (especially if refreshed) list of export controls by country:

An example of cryptography detected by the tool SCANOSS Minr:

We have decided to reach out to experts to see if there are other resources available that may be useful.

Two future resources flagged as useful are:

  1. A list of tools to help detect cryptographic algorithms in open source.
  2. A document listing what encryption is strong and what is standard.

Our outcome was to search for resources like this, and also to check the type of parameters that our work group could continue the discussion while ensuring everyone is comfortable and no suggestion of organizational advice or recommendations could be misunderstood as existing.

The OpenChain Export Control Work Group will hold its second meeting on the 13th of December at 09:00 PST (17:00 UTC).

This meeting will have the following agenda:

  1. Introductions
  2. Open discussion about how our community can contribute to the field

Zoom meeting: