Mark Gisi from OpenChain @ SPDX General Meeting

By September 4, 2018News

Mark Gisi, chair of the OpenChain Project Specification Work Team, will take center stage during the next SPDX General meeting on Thurs, Sept 6, 8am PDT / 10 am CDT / 11am EDT / 15:00. He will explain how SParts – a supply chain ledger leveraging blockchain technology – can solve accountability and access questions.

Abstract:

The union of SPDX data and a blockchain ledger is a match made in heaven. This union enables us to provide both *accountability* and *access* to SPDX data for manufactured products that are comprised on software components contributed by dozens of suppliers. We will present a use case of how we track SPDX data (along with source code and notices)  across the manufacturing supply chain of a device running the Zephyr operating system runtime.

Mark’s bio:

Mark Gisi, Directory of Intellectual Property and Open Source at Wind River Systems, has been managing Open Source policies and programs for the past 12 years. Mark contributes to the Linux Foundation’s SPDX project, OpenChain Project and the Hyperledger Project’s SParts (Software Parts) lab initiative. Mark holds a MS degree in Computer Science and a BS degree in Mathematics.